Waikiki Beachside Hostel

Aloha, my friends! I am back on the mainland ready to share my stories of the two weeks I spent in Oahu, Hawaii. I’ll split them up with pictures and what not to help the reading go by a bit easier.

The first week we stayed at the Waikiki Beachside Hostel. Upon our check-in one of the desk clerks overheard me saying I was from the Central Coast. His tag said “Travis – Santa Barbara”. There was a look to this fellow that I couldn’t quite pinpoint, but he chimed in that he had Santa Barbara on his tag because the town he was from was unknown to most people. He said he was from Orcutt, which is my hometown so I excitedly replied with, “Do I know you?” Finally asking my name, a surprise laugh boasted from him as he said he knew me from going to the same junior high together. Right when he said that it clicked, he was Skater boy! “Not so skater boy anymore!” he said, but now he was a dreadlocked surfer living the life in Hawaii.

Travis and I at the Waikiki Beachside Hostel

Travis and I at the Waikiki Beachside Hostel

This random coincidence of seeing Travis again was a great start to the trip and made our stay at the hostel that much better. By the second day other staff members I hadn’t met yet knew that I was Travis’s long lost friend. For the rest of the trip, we were on a first name basis with most of the staff and felt like it was home.

As far as living quarters, we stayed in a co-ed semi-private room: 2 beds in the semi-private, and 2 beds in the outer room. The room combined had a patio, bathroom, fridge, and stocked kitchen. It was a little over $30 per person. We also stayed in an 8-person co-ed dorm for two of the nights, which… let’s just say… wasn’t as comfortable as the semi-private.

4 beds - Small Dorm / Semi-Private - Waikiki Beachside Hostel

4 beds - Small Dorm / Semi-Private - Waikiki Beachside Hostel

8 person dorm (main room) - Waikiki Beachside Hostel

8 person dorm (main room) - Waikiki Beachside Hostel

Nevertheless, the hostel was quite the social scene. You start getting to know those staying at the hostel as everyone socializes at the downstairs lounge. It’s an open area with vending machines, Pandora playing on the big screen tv, ping-pong table, books and games to play, you could bring your own drinks, $5-$8 dinners are prepared every night which I’ve never seen offered at any other hostel, and they allow musicians staying at the hostel to post up for 1-hour nightly sessions.

Alaska, Argentina, and Texas - Musicians at Waikiki Beachside Hostel

Alaska, Argentina, and Texas - Musicians at Waikiki Beachside Hostel

I highly recommend anyone going to Oahu on a budget to book the Waikiki Beachside Hostel. You’ll meet travelers from around the world, and who knows, maybe you’ll bump into my friend, Travis!

4 thoughts on “Waikiki Beachside Hostel

  1. Pingback: Pro Bowl All-Star Block Party « Adventures of Kana Ribultan

  2. Pingback: North Shore Love « Adventures of Kana Ribultan

  3. Pingback: Canada, eh?! | Adventures of Kana Ribultan

Leave a Reply

