A Death Defying Experience – Skydiving

I’ve never been so fearful for my life than looking down 14,000 ft getting ready to jump out of an airplane. The thought of possibly not living through what you’re just about to do is a mixture of excitement and terror!

Pacific Skydiving School - North Shore

Pacific Skydiving - North Shore

I’ve heard one of the best views in skydiving is from North Shore. I got picked up by Pacific Skydiving and traveled to the airfield where you can see jump after jump. As we pulled up, I noticed how fast these guys were falling from the sky, but landing gently and safely on the ground. It gave me a look of what I was about to do. I filled out the “do not sue us” form, got strapped into my gear, and am introduced to my instructor and camera guy, Robbie and Brandon. These guys were hilarious!

Robbie and Brandon - Pacific Skydiving School - North Shore

Robbie and Brandon - Pacific Skydiving - North Shore

All the way up, my straps kept falling off my shoulders. Robbie kept making comments that the XL tag meant Xtra Little, but since it was a bit loose just to make sure that I held onto them tight when we jumped. I knew he was joking, but couldn’t help wonder just a little bit when he was going to tighten them up. As we got higher and higher the adrenaline and nervousness become more intense. Robbie ended up tightening the straps closer to the drop point so I was secured to his body. When we were at 4,000 ft I thought that was high enough… imagine 14,000 ft.

View from the drop point - Pacific Skydiving School - North Shore

View from the drop point 14,000 ft - Pacific Skydiving - North Shore

Sliding up to the open door and seeing how far you’re gonna fall was the second scariest part of the jump. The first was the drop out where you lose all perception of what’s up and down. I couldn’t help but hope that the straps wouldn’t come loose or break. I definitely screamed once we hit the air.

WOOOOOOOHOOOOO!!

AhhhHHHhhhHHH!!

I felt the tap on my shoulder meaning it was time to spread the arms out. With the pressure of the wind they flew open right as I loosened my muscles. It’s amazing how you feel like you’re floating with just wind blasting up from under you. My stomach didn’t drop because there wasn’t any comprehension of how fast I was falling.

Pacific Skydiving School - North Shore

Pacific Skydiving - North Shore

We dropped to 6,000 ft and Robbie opened the chute. It was a rough jolt and once he got settled in he started loosening the straps to put me in more of a sitting position rather than being his little spoon for the ride down. This was the only time I felt the velocity as he took us for a little spinny ride down. He took off my goggles and I took in the gorgeous view of North Shore.

Pacific Skydiving School - North Shore

Pacific Skydiving - North Shore

After I survived the experience, I felt invincible! It was the most exhilarating experience and by far the scariest thing I’ve ever done. I can officially cross skydiving off my bucket list.

If your looking for a chance to skydive, I’ve been following Bucket List Publications (Lesley Carter). This couple is amazing, and they’re offering a chance to cross it off your list! The drop off is in San Diego, CA so those of you near should check it out.

Thanks Robbie for the jump and Brandon for the pics!

Thanks Robbie for the jump and Brandon for the pics!

One thought on “A Death Defying Experience – Skydiving

  1. Pingback: 2012 Recap – My Hippie-Travel Phase | Adventures of Kana Ribultan

Leave a Reply

