Strasbourg, France & Offenburg, Germany

Back in 2009, my company sent me to stay in a town called Offenburg and work at our newly opened European branch for a month. I fell in love with the place. If it wasn’t for the weather I would’ve considered staying. Let me tell you, winter is harsh! Luckily, this time around it was summer and it was gorgeous!

A view of the country-side where I stayed near Offenburg.

A view of the country-side where I stayed near Offenburg.

Hanging out in Offenburg.

Hanging out in Offenburg.

A bunch of US workers were there at the time so it felt like home. I arrived around 11pm and my friend, Jarred picked me up at the bahnhof (train station). We went straight to our favorite restaurant, Bombay. Unfortunately, they were done serving dinner but we had their delicious appetizers and wine. (Side note: If you ever want to have the BEST steak in your life, Bombay is the best place to go. Even though we didn’t have it that night, we went back again on my last night. It’s RIDICULOUS.)

Bombay - I love carpaccio!

Bombay – I love carpaccio!

This is Bombay's famous steak. It's AMAZING.

This is Bombay’s famous steak. It’s AMAZING.

I was only in Germany for a few days, but oh how I love this place. Have I said that already? Offenburg is only a 20 minute train ride to Strasbourg, France, so while everyone still had to work I spent one of my days there wandering and having a nice lunch in one of the courtyards.

Strasbourg, France

Strasbourg, France

Strasbourg, France - On my way to the Cathedral.

Strasbourg, France – On my way to the Cathedral.

A view of the Cathedral.

A view of the Cathedral.

Stopped for a lovely lunch.

Stopped for a lovely lunch.

Relaxing with the sounds of Strasbourg.

Relaxing with the sounds of Strasbourg.

While my stay in Germany it reminisced me of my time in SLO; having dinner and drinks with friends, and we even went bowling!

KINGPIN!

Herbolzheim, Germany – The Kingpin Bowling Center

One of the highlight nights was experiencing the camaraderie of football. I hit Europe at the perfect time, the time of the European Football Championship. Football = soccer. Where in the world did we come up with “soccer?” Anyway, everyone gathered in the city center to witness the battle between Germany and Italy in the semi-finals.

In the city center routing for Germany!

In the city center routing for Germany!

Throughout the town restaurants and designated open areas set up flat screens or jumbotrons. Talk about team spirit, these places were packed. A sad, sad night for the Germans as they fell to Italy 1-2. Check out a video of the city center HERE.

Germany vs Italy

Germany vs Italy

Other than that, the short time spent in Germany was again a blast. I was happy that there were so many of my friends there from SLO to spend it with.

Team USA in Germany.

Team USA in Germany.

One thought on “Strasbourg, France & Offenburg, Germany

  1. Pingback: 2012 Recap – My Hippie-Travel Phase | Adventures of Kana Ribultan

Leave a Reply

