East Coast Wanders

I’m back in the states and the adventures keep coming. A month ago I said farewell to Italy and said Hello to Philly. And yes, I not only had a Philly Cheese Steak, but it was my FIRST Philly Cheese Steak! Not too shabby. Also, holy HUMIDITY – had to get that out of the way.

My first Philly Cheese Steak

My first Philly Cheese Steak

One may ask, why the east coast? Well, as some of you know my fiancé was out at sea. His 8 month stint was ending in Norfolk, VA. Might as well visit some friends and make it a fun trip, right? Other than New York and Florida I’d never experienced the east coast. My old college roomie, Ralph, of 3 years had moved to Philly a few years back. The plan was to hang out there, then he’d drive me down to VA Beach where my other friend was and reunite with Brad. The plan was successfully executed.

In Philly, we cruised the streets of downtown, didn’t actually go into the Museum of Art but had a great time posing like Rocky, and even splashed around in a fountain of “NO SWIMMING”.

Relaxing at the George Washington Fountain.

Relaxing at the George Washington Fountain.

Climbed the top of the stairs like Rocky.

Climbed the top of the stairs like Rocky.

Rocky statue.

Rocky statue.

You're not "supposed" to get into the fountain, but so many kids were doing it.

You’re not “supposed” to get into the fountain, but so many kids were doing it.

Heading down the coast was a gorgeous site. We went through Delaware, Maryland, and down the handle of Virginia where the highway stretches over the ocean – beautiful, especially at sunset. I continued the trend from the March Roadtrip taking a picture at each border crossing.

Welcome to DELAWARE!

Welcome to DELAWARE!

Welcome to MARYLAND!

Welcome to MARYLAND!

VIRGINIA!

Welcome to VIRGINIA!

VA Beach was gorgeous… I guess in comparison to other naval towns – specifically the one we live in. NOT complaining though… sigh. I digress. Anyway, it was great to see my girl, Rory, and it was that much closer to seeing Brad. We checked out the music scene, road bikes around town, and relaxed at the beach. On the plus side, east coast water is leagues warmer than the west coast.

Bike cruising.

Bike cruising.

After an amazing time with Rory and Ralph, it was time for the boat to dock up. A family friend picked me up and we headed to base. The feeling was unreal. You know what else is unreal? Maryland style crab cakes and steamed blue crabs with Old Bay seasoning. The picture below makes me shed a little tear of happiness.

Reunited in Norfolk, VA

Reunited in Norfolk, VA

Most of Brad’s family is from Maryland, hence the crab envy. Back up we drove and his family flourished us with Baltimore tradition. We did the crab thing – if you ever go to the east coast and are a seafood person you MUST try this…

Steamed blue crabs with Old Bay seasoning.

Steamed blue crabs with Old Bay seasoning.

Went to an Oriole’s game…

Orioles vs Royals - W: 7-1

Orioles vs Royals – W: 7-1

Ran around DC checking out the sites and the Natural History Museum (by the way, one of the best museums I’ve been to – that’s cuz I love nature)

Obama House.

Obama House.

WWII Memorial.

WWII Memorial.

Natural History Museum

Natural History Museum

And explored Annapolis…

Naval Academy in Annapolis.

Naval Academy in Annapolis.

I wish we had more time in DC – there’s just so much to see. I know we’ll be going back to the east coast many more times and I’ll be looking forward to it every time!

4 thoughts on “East Coast Wanders

  1. Pingback: Slap My Butt Into the Navy | Adventures of Kana Ribultan

  2. Pingback: Slap My Butt Into the Navy | Adventures of Kana Ribultan

  3. Pingback: 2012 Recap – My Hippie-Travel Phase | Adventures of Kana Ribultan

  4. Pingback: Food, Fun, and Sun in North Carolina | Adventures of Kana Ribultan

Leave a Reply

