Slap My Butt Into the Navy

It’s been a few months since I’ve last written – my apologies. Since my East Coast Travels, I had an amazing wedding and went from living on the road into a military house wife life. I like to call it, the HWL. As you might think, yes, the HWL is a much “slower” lifestyle than my previous wanderings, but I’m back with Brad and that’s worth settling down a bit. Nevertheless, there are pros and cons moving into a town where there are more cows than people. I figure it’s about time to update what I’ve been doing for the last few months.

Going back to the wedding, we had about 2 weeks from when we were reunited in Norfolk to the moment of “I do.” I think I’m a pretty laid-back person and I still thought the planning process was extremely stressful, especially the last minute details. CRAZY! I think the stressful part was figuring I could DIY with almost everything to save money – invitations, programs, table decorations, and 7 bouquets. For those who have ever been a part or planned a wedding, it definitely took more work and time than I thought.

Stargaze Lily Bouquets

Stargaze Lily Bouquets

When the day of the rehearsal came my cute dress ensemble turned into sweats, a long sleeve, 2 sweaters, and an overcoat. Why? Not because it was cold – it was in the 60’s that day – but because I was fighting a fever of 102 for the last 2 days. Haha awesome. Instead of having delicious drinks with my family and best friends in the resort hot tube, my last night was spent alone sweating it out in my room. But I digress; worse things could always happen!

The wedding went on as planned. It was non-denomination, we did the “First Look” before the ceremony where we had a moment to ourselves, my old boss gave an amazingly hilarious speech as our Officiator, and as we walked through the sword arch of our naval aviator friends the last man slapped my butt with his sword and welcomed me to the Navy. Even though I couldn’t really taste I heard the food was amazing, we cut the cake with a sword, and the dance floor was overflowing. Yes, it was exhausting managing through the sickness, but nothing like good ol’ whiskey helped me through it.

First look before the ceremony

First look before the ceremony

Sword Arch Detail

Sword Arch Detail

The Bridal Party

The Bridal Party

Welcome to the Navy Butt Slap

Welcome to the Navy Butt Slap

Anyway, onward to the most annoying question, “How’s married life?” Next question, “Babies?” Come on people! When you’re newlywed it’s pretty much exactly the same and right now we’re trying to enjoy our time together since we really are together about 1/3 of our time. It’s been a crazy transition, but a blast! I’m extremely thankful for my wive’s club and our friends. It’s great having people around who are going through the same exact separation anxieties. You never truly understand unless you deal with the lifestyle first hand. I have an incredible respect for all military families that go through what we do. On a higher note, I joined a soccer league with a few of the wifeys with our season just finishing up. Cue in Queen – We Are the Champions! Yup..  we were crowned League Champions! We’ve had squadron functions, weekend getaways, and now it’s time for the holidays.

NASL Soccer Champions 2012

NASL Soccer Champions 2012

Strike Fighter Hornet Ball 2012

Strike Fighter Hornet Ball 2012

As Brad and my journey continue, we’re always challenged with whatever hurdle is thrown at us. Currently, we’re working on getting the word out there of my photography business. Although, being a HW is “relaxing” at times, it’d be great to get back into the work world. I just revamped the portfolio with pictures from my latest trips (although, most have been already blogged) and I’m slowly, but surely building up my portrait section. I’m hoping good word will spread amongst the community.

I hope all is well with everyone and I’ll update this more regularly now that some new adventures will be coming!

XOXO,
Kana

5 thoughts on “Slap My Butt Into the Navy

  1. Pingback: 2012 Recap – My Hippie-Travel Phase | Adventures of Kana Ribultan

Leave a Reply

